Asbury is a place where everyone is welcome to worship, grow, and serve. Service to Asbury comes in many forms and our lay leadership give their time and talents in numerous ways. Healthy leadership is critical to the effectiveness of any organization, and Asbury United Methodist Church is no exception. 

Church Council

Purpose:  Provides for planning and implementing a program of nurture, outreach, witness, and resources in the local church.  The church council is directed by the charge conference. The Church Council meets at 7:00pm on the 3rd Tuesday of each month in room 144.

Terry Sides, Chairperson
Monica Williams, Recording Secretary
Vacant, Lay Leader
Lee Benson, Board of Trustees
Frank O’Neil, Finance Committee
Melanie Nichols, Staff-Parish Relations Committee
Janet O’Neil, Missions in Action Committee
Grayson Lawrence, Lay Delegate to Annual Conference
Brooks Burdette, Lay Delegate to Annual Conference
Larry King, Lay Delegate to Annual Conference
Eddie Harris
Leslie Crawford
Carol Erickson
Becky Paisley
Chris Clark
Rob Rodich
Alice Little
Gina McIntyre

Board of Trustees

Purpose: The Board of Trustees shall have the supervision, oversight, and care of all real property owned by the church and of all property and equipment acquired by the local church or by any organization connected therewith. The Board of Trustees meets at 7pm on the 2nd Tuesday of each month in room 127.

Lee Benson, Chairperson
Fred Azbik, Director of Facilities
Jeff Hunt, Class of 2021
Kathy Beaumont, Class of 2021
Green Touchstone, Class of 2022
Don Hoppman, Class of 2022
Cole Williams, Class of 2022
Ralph Peck, Class of 2023
Jonathan Dodd, Class of 2023
Ashley Whitfield, Class of 2023


Purpose: The committee on Finance shall give stewardship of financial resources as their priority throughout the year.  It may delegate the responsibility to implement ways to generate more resources to mission and ministries of the local church and beyond and find creative ways to generate an attitude of generosity. The Finance Committee meets at 6pm on the 2nd Tuesday of each month in room 126.

Frank O’Neil, Chairperson
Leah Gardner, Director of Finance
Terry Sides, Church Council Chairperson
Lee Benson, Board of Trustees Chairperson
Vacant, Lay Leader
Clay Cochran, Class of 2021
Robin Hunter, Class of 2021
Cary Guffey, Class of 2021
Scott Mansfield, Class of 2022
Kelli Busby, Class of 2022
Todd McCormick, Class of 2022
Jay Nichols, Class of 2023
Chuck Kramer, Class of 2023

Staff-Parish Relations Committee

Purpose: To encourage, strengthen, nurture, support and respect the pastor(s) and staff and their family(s), to promote unity in the church, and to confer with and counsel the pastor(s) and staff on the matters pertaining to the effectiveness of ministry; relationships with the congregation; the pastor’s health and self-care, conditions that may impede the effectiveness of ministry; and to interpret the nature and function of the ministry. The SPRC is required by the Book of Discipline to meet at least quarterly, but due to the nature of the committee and its purpose, meetings are confidential and are not open to the congregation. If you would like to contact the SPRC chairperson, email

Melanie Nichols, Chairperson
Vacant, Lay Leader
Grayson Lawrence, Class of 2021
Brooks Burdette, Class of 2021
Ranea Breen, Class of 2022
Amanda Benson, Class of 2022
Natan Shar, Class of 2022
Lea Renfroe, Class of 2022
Bob Suellentrop, Class of 2023
Larry King, Class of 2023
Lenora Jones, Class of 2023

Missions in Action

Purpose: To be the hands and feet of Asbury United Methodist Church through service and mission. Missions in Action is responsible for distributing at least 10 percent of Asbury’s annual tithes and offerings to local and international missions. MIA also oversees the church’s food pantry, various assistance programs, and strives to serve our neighbors both near and far. Missions in Action Committee meets at 7pm on the first Tuesday of each month in room 127.

Janet O’Neil, Chairperson
John Milton, Class of 2021
Brad Williams, Class of 2021
Vickie Peck, Class of 2021
Alicia Pangman, Class of 2021
Tori Rebman, Class of 2022
Michelle Olson, Class of 2022
Mike Kennedy, Class of 2022
Sam McGarr, Class of 2023
John Lenoir, Class of 2023
Eddie Duett, Class of 2023

Nominations and Leadership Development

Purpose: To identify, develop, deploy, evaluate and monitor Christian spiritual leadership for the local congregation. Members of the committee shall engage in and be attentive to developing and enhancing their own Christian spiritual life in light of the mission of the Church. The Nominations and Leadership Development Committee meets prior to Charge Conference in the fall to develop a slate of nominations for the committees above.

Rev. Dr. Bill Morgan, Rev. Robert Mercer, Rev. Maggie Dunaway, Chairpersons
Vacant, Lay Leader
Cris Ferguson, Class of 2021
Pete Gagliano, Class of 2021
Myra Shaw, Class of 2022
Rodney Bennett, Class of 2022
Allison Boyd, Class of 2023
Tom Mullins, Class of 2023
Jenny Southerland, Class of 2023